2013: Looking Ahead, Pretty Scared

Image

It’s January 3, which by now means over 65% of you are seriously neglecting your New Year’s Resolutions. Slackers.

I’ve never been much for goal-setting. Probably how I originally went to college for Broadcasting, ended up with a Psychology degree (after attending four different schools!), and had a career that’s careened from telemarketing to information technology to operations management to publishing to advertising. I’ve started two companies that have failed. I live paycheck-to-paycheck. I ran my last 5K about as fast as most people can walk one, but I’ve also finished three half-marathons and about a dozen other races that stretch longer than 10K.

New Year’s Resolutions? I don’t even know what I’m going to do tomorrow. For breakfast. I’m as consistent as a toddler at an archery range.

But it is 2013, and I’m done not resolving, because I’m 30 years old, and my lungs are pretty much a mess and my parents are wondering when I’m going to have grandkids and I’m pretty sure all those deep-seeded dreams I entertained when I was youthful and foolish have been forgotten in a haze of cynicism and delirium.

But I’ve got a spare 20 minutes, and here’s what I’m going to set out to do this year. They’re nothing special, they’re just things I need to do. They’re fairly specific, actionable and basic, because I was once told all good goals should be.

1. I’m going to lose 30 pounds. Not because I want to feel better about myself, or look sexier in a mirror. But pretty much because I can, and therefore, I want to.

2. I’m going to write for 30 minutes every day. I don’t care if you read it. But I need to keep a sharp edge to my writing.

3. I’m going to incorporate as much of the Icarian Diet as I can every day. Why? Because they live forever. And I want to. Because I am scared to death of dying.

4. I want to talk to one family member and one friend – on the phone or in person – per day.

5. I’m going to control my asthma by any and all means. I’m going to take all my medicines every day, avoid allergens, and educate myself on what else I need to do to better prepare myself for the strange road ahead.

6. I’m going to see a therapist, and a massage therapist, monthly. Because my shoulder and my psyche need a LOT of fixing after the beating they took last year.

7. I’m going to tell my girlfriend I love her every day and every night. Because I do and I was always taught not to lie.

8. I’m going to attend at least one service (either Catholic, Buddhist or Hindu) monthly. Maybe one will stick. And I’ll re-read The Gita, The Dhammapada and The Wisdom Books of the old testament, since they’re pretty much where I’ve gotten 98% of my spiritual guidance that I haven’t already received from the Wu-Tang Clan.

9. I’m going to do pretty much everything Dave Ramsey tells me to do because I’m historically awful with money. I’m halfway through his book. It sucks, and by “it sucks” I mean “it’s awesome, I just really, really suck with money and I’m ashamed.”

10. I’m going to stop making lists of round numbers for the sake of simplicity, comprehensiveness and whatever. This list goes to 9. This 10 was just a bonus for the sake of irony. You’re welcome, hipsters.

 

One thought on “2013: Looking Ahead, Pretty Scared

  1. I would like it stipulated for the record that should you need a friend to call on any particular day, I am willing to be that friend. DM’ed you my cell phone number on Twitter, as well as Skype contact, should you be a Skype-using individual like myself.

    Also wanted to say thank you for showing me that my little, homemade, “This is where I write stuff” site doesn’t have to be fancy – it just has to be mine.

    Rock on, Mr. Gorman!

Leave a Reply

